Shop at GT Store

Gamesthirst Goes E3 Mental – We’re Covering Everything

by Ernice Gilbert on May 25th, 2011, under E3, E3 2011, Hot, News

The biggest gaming expo in the world is happening in two weeks time, and there, everything that concerns games will be present. Trailers, new releases, teasers, gameplay videos, surprises, new consoles, new handheld consoles. And of course, the bombshells. Who could forget last year’s? No one, I reckon.

Microsoft will be present, Nintendo and Sony will also be present. Every single developer in the world that’s worth its salt will be there talking up their offerings. id Software basically invented the FPS genre and they’ll be there showing off RAGE and DOOM 4 – but that’s just for starters. We have the days and times of what’s big at the event below the break.

Konami – Gets the tossup and goes big as it kicks off E3 2011

What do we expect? Lots of news there. Hideo Kojima basically belongs to Konami and so you’d expect to see his games, the multiplatform ones, there. Metal Gear Solid: Rising should get another awesome trailer and some gameplay footage and hopefully a proper release date. There’s been talk of Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2 but who knows… Kojima’s also been working on a taboo game so that might get a surprise showing, and expect to see and hear more concerning Silent Hill: Downpour for the first time.

Microsoft – Monday, June 6: 9am PST, 12pm EST, 5pm BST, 6pm CET, 3am Sydney (Tuesday June 6th) – First Platform Holder To Hold E3 2011 Presser

Microsoft goes hard. It knows how to go hard. Last year the giant stunned the crowed with Xbox 360 Slim and a barrage of titles for Kinect. This year, Kinect is coming strong. MS has promised to start delivering hardcore titles to the motion camera, and will unveil ten new titles alongside the expected sequels, with half of the new ones being “hardcore”. As for Xbox 360, Gears of War 3 will definitely be on the floor for all to play, and expect to see and hear more about Codename Kingdoms, the game Crytek’s helming, and XCOM.

Xbox 2?

That’s been the talk, but EA and MS have both debunked the grapevine news so we’re left in limbo. Other than that, expect the MS show to be full of other surprises. There’ll most likely be a demo of Modern Warfare 3 and an announcement reminding gamers that DLC for the bestselling game will come to Xbox Live before any other platform.

EA Goes Big On Monday, June 6 – 12:30pm PST, 3:30pm EST, 8:30pm BST, 9:30pm CET, 6:30am Sydney

EA’s the first of the big third-party publishers to have its press conference, and expect the firm to bring the house down. Literally. I’m talking about Battlefield 3. Expect to see a brand new gameplay trailer, and finally console footage. We’ll also get a firm release date for the shooter, as DICE promises to go head-to-head with Infinity Ward’s Modern Warfare 3.

Mass Effect 3 will be on the show floor for thirsty journalists. The game’s been delayed into next year because, according to Bioware, they want the third installment to be the best Mass Effect ever delivered. You’ll also see Need for Speed: The Run, SSX, a new Medal of Honor and much more. It should be hot.

And don’t forget that Insomniac Games’ signed a deal with EA for a new IP. Expect it there.

Ubisoft Comes Hard On Monday, June 6 – 2:30pm PST, 5:30pm EST, 10:30pm BST, 11:30pm CET, 8:30am Sydney

I must admit Ubisoft’s pressers of past have been so-so. They could do much better – and we suspect this year the publisher’s going for broke. Assassin’s Creed: Revelations will surely be on display, this time with a proper gameplay trailer and even a positive release date.

Far Cry 3, Ghost Recon: Future Soldier and Driver: San Francisco are mostly likely to be on spot, and there should be a Splinter Cell bombshell too.

Sony’s Epical, 5hr Long Press Event Happens on Monday, June 6 – 5pm PST, 8pm EST, 1am BST, 2am CET, 11am Sydney

If you thought the PSN hack would have kept Sony tamed at this year’s E3, think again. The giant’s always about big guns for big wars, and at E3, it brought the entire arsenal. There will be more than one megatons at Sony’s press conference. Guaranteed.

There might be a big announcement concerning a PSN revamp, as the firm’s rumored to be doing something big in the shadows with the service. But you should have no doubt in your mind that the exclusive lineup of PS3 will be second-to-none at the show.

You’ll surely hear more about Killzone 3, (although the game’s already released) Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception, inFamous 2, LittleBigPlanet 2, Resistance 3, Starhawk, the ICO and SotC HD remixes, The Last Guardian and Motorstorm Apocalypse just to name a few.

NGP will be officially unveiled at the event, and gamers will finally get their hands on the mobile console. There’ll be tons of games for it, too, including Uncharted NGP, Killzone NGP, Resistance NGP and many more from third-part developers.

AGENT.

Then there’s Kojimasan. Metal Gear Solid 5 could be announced. Square-Enix’s PS3 exclusive Final Fantasy vs XIII should be present, Final Fantasy XII-2 also, and much more….It’s not over.

David Cage’s confirmed that he’s hard at work on a new PS3 exclusive, and we’re also hearing talks of God of War IV complete with online multiplayer. If Kevin Butler’s not at the show….Kevin Butler will be at the show. This is where the world really ends.

Nintendo Will Once Again Steal The Show On Tuesday, June 7: 9am PST, 12pm EST, 5pm BST, 6pm CET, 3am Sydney (Wednesday in AU)

Sony’s unveiling NGP? So What! Nintendo’s setting the whole place on fire with its….wait for it…Project Cafe unveiling. Believe it or not, that’s a triple megaton.

Nintendo will come ready and surprise us all again when it unveils its new console. And truth be told, it might release sooner than people think, and come ready with big games like Battlefield 3, Modern Warfare 3, Assassins’s Creed: Revelations and much more with improved visuals over the current consoles. Project Cafe’s rumored to be like none before it, and with a new home system on its side, Nintendo could also introduce a brand new online service similar to PSN and Xbox Live, and instantly creating room for the industry to grow.

It stands to be the biggest Nintendo presser you’ve ever seen.

Of course we’ll see the 3DS there, and games such as Metal Gear Solid 3DS: Snake Eater and the usuals suspects, yet Project Cafe is where the smoke lies.

But seriously, whatever you do, don’t you miss E3 2011. It promises to be the biggest show by 4 1/2 years, and once it’s gone, you can’t go back. The entire Gamesthirst staff will be working around the clock to keep you up-to-date with the latest breaking announcements, trailers, big reveals and whatever’s happening. Yes indeed, we’ve gone E3 2011 mental. Certifiably so.

14 Comments

  1. Thu, 26th May 2011 at 2:40 am

    GO SONY!!

  2. Thu, 26th May 2011 at 4:17 am

    soooooooooooooooooooooooo disappointed valve are not going to turn up!
    :(
    was convinced we would FINALLY see some HL2 epp 3 details!
    come on valve we need our gordon freeman fix before he turns into a frail old man!

  3. Thu, 26th May 2011 at 6:03 am

    Nice read! I’m rooting for them all….Metal Gear Solid 5 Please!!

  4. Thu, 26th May 2011 at 6:03 am

    The show will be hot there’s no doubt about it.

  5. Thu, 26th May 2011 at 6:05 am

    Valve decided not to show up…I wonder if they will……

  6. Thu, 26th May 2011 at 7:15 am

    Come on Sony….

  7. Thu, 26th May 2011 at 7:29 am

    Hey, where’s the MS and Ninty Love?

  8. Thu, 26th May 2011 at 8:20 am

    Ok fine…..Let’s Go NINTENDO!!!!

  9. Thu, 26th May 2011 at 8:22 am

    ” A new Hedal of Honour” ???? SWEEEEET!!!!!! I loved the last one…it was a bit short but a great game.

  10. Thu, 26th May 2011 at 8:25 am

    Yeah, we gave it an 8/6/10 here. I hope they improve the mp bits… Has great potential.

  11. Thu, 26th May 2011 at 8:26 am

    And I see no love for MS…I’ll help here: GO! Microsoft GO!!! Sigh… was that good enough? On the real though, I’m looking towards Codename Kingdoms, I’m really excited to see what Crytek does with it.

  12. Thu, 26th May 2011 at 10:09 am

    no love for M$ because everyone knows all there interested in is crappy kinect games!
    i wish they would announce crackdown 3 at E3, but this time put the original devs back on it!
    i want crackdown 3, not crackdown 1.6!

  13. Thu, 26th May 2011 at 10:41 am

    True. I almost forgot about Crackdown.

  14. Thu, 26th May 2011 at 11:31 am

    I wish valve would show something this year, but they aren’t. With Sony, I doubt they are going to spend much time on sales because they have a lot to make up for with the psn breach. I think they will shed more light on what happened and tell us about some new features that will make psn better, and then talk about some new games and NGP. MS will show some kinect games, a sequel or prequel to Halo, some more Gears stuff, some kingdoms stuff, and some MW 3 stuff. Nintendo will show Project Cafe.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.