Medal Of Honor: Warfighter

warfighterboxart
6 Overall Score
Visuals: 8/10
Story: 3/10
MP: 6/10

Good-looking game with decent gameplay, and decent multiplayer.

Fails in too many ways. Weak single-player with noticeable inconsistencies. Par-for-the-course MP.

No medals here.

Two years and counting. That’s the amount of time Danger Closer, the developer behind Medal Of Honor: Warfighter had to craft the game, but two years have come and gone, and I’m left wondering what on God’s earth were these guys up to, because Medal of Honor: Warfighter just doesn’t measure up to standards set by Battlefield and Call of Duty… Not by a long shot.

Let’s start with the game’s single-player portion. Danger Close tried to tie real-life Seals stories into the game’s narrative, a deliberate effort to show authenticity, but even that wasn’t executed properly. And so it happens.

In the beginning, there was a bomb, the bomb was placed on a truck and said truck subsequently exploded, putting into motion a series of shooting and running, until you’re met by a helicopter than must be taken down with a Rocket Launcher. Once the threat has been eliminated, the game goes cold – taking you back to the U.S., showing a Seal talking to his wife on a cellphone, who doesn’t sound too pleased with his randevous. But he won’t listen, the marriage is on the brink yet a war is brewing, the seal chooses to go with his warfighter mentality instead. By the way, this is written more exciting than the game really is. The opening sequence is boring and tiresome. You’ll feel like you’ve been there, done that already, and had a much more thrilling time doing so…in the past, playing another game.

After the lengthy and stale intro, the game settles for a slower pace, as you move from mission-to-mission with scant connections. I had no idea, to be honest, what my mission was about apart from shooting Talibans to hell in every new level. To accompany the lacking story, you’ll be greeted by bugs along the way, some forcing you to restart the game! Warfighter’s missions are set sporadically around the Middle East, but it’s more a mesh of clashing colors hastily sewn together than a beautifully hewn garment. If Medal Of Honor: Warfighter were a house, no one would want to live in it.

And that sums up the game’s single-player portion, really. You, following a man to an invisible objective, breaching doors, shooting terrorists, using snipers, etc. That’s it, all done in beautiful environments. Yes, Medal Of Honor: Warfighter does look pretty, but like I’ve said many times, visuals is just one component of game. The gameplay, too, is solid, and you’ll see hints of Battlefield 3 in here, however the shooter gets stuck somewhere in the middle, not knowing exactly what it wants to be, what it wants to do, and who, if anyone, it’s trying to please.

Certainly not those who love a challenging AI. Warfighter’s artificial intelligence is so weak it makes you feel stupid. In this one scene, an enemy vehicle rages towards us with a mounted gun on the back of a truck. You would think he’d go heavy and start firing until we fall back – he doesn’t! The man stands on a truck, shooting the opposite way while I take him down with a pistol. No challenge. No fun.

To be fair, Warfighter does a few things right: The game’s vehicle sections are done very well, with solid driving mechanics and the freedom to move about. Although you’re directed down certain routes, the freedom of control is given to make you feel in charge of the situation.

Warfighter has also been blessed with a new aiming system. By holding L2 (or left bumper on Xbox 360) you’ll enable what I’ll call free aim, where you’re locked into position, allowing you to slightly alter your aim along the X axis. It’s a great feature to take down enemies without getting hit.

The game’s campaign, then, simply deserves no Medals, as it fails to entertain, fails to bring forth a compelling story, and does no justice to the soldiers it embodies by telling their tale through forced flashbacks.

MP

I spent a good deal of time in Warfighter’s multiplayer, and although it’s enjoyable to some extent, there’s nothing that changes anything. In fact, I played at least 7 games with Mezzo and another 7 with random players, and I haven’t felt the need to go back – even if I know I will eventually, just because it’s a new game, and not because I feel compelled to.

There are six different classes in total that can pair up to form interesting compliments to each other; however, from the first moments of Medal of Honor: Warfighter multiplayer, Danger Close, chose, strangely, to have one class unlocked. It’ll take you a few hours before you have them all unlocked.

Classes include Assault, Sniper, Demolitions, Pointman, Spec Ops, and Heavy Gunner. Each one has specialized equipment and character attributes. The Sniper, Spec Ops and Pointman, carry light armor and are the quickest on their feet, while the Heavy Gunner and Demolitions classes can take a few more bullets, but lumber around the map like a tank. Every class has a special ability and encourages different play-styles, supporting the team in various ways.

Modes:

In addition to traditional modes like TDM and Capture The Flag, Warfighter introduces two new modes: Home Run and Hot Spot, and brings back a few old favorites like Combat Mission and Sector Control. Home Run is a variant of the standard capture-the-flag mode, which place players in a small arena on attacking and defending teams. Attackers must grab one of two flags and bring it back to their base, while the defenders attempt to stop them. The winning conditions are score based with teams taking turns on the attacking side. Hot Spot is a fast-paced mode requiring a considerable amount of communication and team strategy.

The multiplayer is also very buggy. You’ll find yourself floating in the sky at times, and failing to spawn in the allocated location. I was once placed in a restricted area upon spawning, leaving me confused as to what was going on. There’s also no way to exit the game? I searched but haven’t found it. It crashed my PS3 at one point while looking for different modes, and throws you in empty games, sometimes.

I like the buddy spawn system which, unlike Battlefield 3, will not allow you to spawn on your friend if he’s in the line of fire. I also appreciate how at the end of a game the best team is shown rejoicing with fist bumps, etc.

But in the end, Medal Of Honor: Warfighter isn’t what you’d expect from Danger Close, especially in a day and age when the FPS genre in particular has become extremely competitive, with developers like DICE, Infinity Ward, 343 Industries, Gurrella Games and Treyarch pushing the boundaries. And with big titles like Halo 4 and Call of Duty: Black Ops 2 available in less than one month, there’s no need to buy Warfighter. Rent it instead.

PS3 version tested.

You Might Also Like

SHARE THIS POST

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Myspace
  • Google Buzz
  • Reddit
  • Stumnleupon
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Technorati
Author: Ernice Gilbert View all posts by
Ernice Gilbert here. Founder and Editor-In-Chief of Gamesthirst. Thanks for stopping by, make yourself at home!

42 Comments on "Medal Of Honor: Warfighter"

  1. TheGrimOfDeath October 24, 2012 at 9:21 am -

    Ouch, Is it really that bad? I did hear from other reviews saying that the game was great and okay. Some said it was bad, like really bad. Guess it was a good idea I didn’t buy the game. Not gonna rent it either.
    ___

    Hey Ernice there is someone in the video if the First Look MOH Warfighter who wants to use the video on the channel. He’s in the top comments, check him out.

  2. benzo October 24, 2012 at 10:11 am -

    I’ve been playing it and I have to disagree with you EG. So far so good with the SP and getting into MP on my days off. Disagreements are rare with most folks on GT so this comes as a surprise. Guess there is only room for 1 modern shooter around these parts and its COD. Im glad I bought MoH and I still like what Danger Close does. Just wish that we could have gotten the next Bad Company game instead of an annual MoH release. Thanks for the review…hopefully EA will get it through their heads that the only way to compete with COD is to not copy them. A new Bad Company game would have been just what games wanted! Thanks for you review and thoughts EG.

  3. benzo October 24, 2012 at 10:13 am -

    Would like to point out that I am not far in the campaign, so I should have saved my disagree until I was further in. For that I apologize…I had such high hopes for a good story about these warriors and I respect the opinions of GT folks. I think my initial response was the MoH fanboy in me so I apologize for it folks.

  4. MaXfReZa October 24, 2012 at 12:18 pm -

    I played this game last night with Ernice. He played it longer than I did so I can’t be as detailed as he is, but I can explain my personal experience. Starting with the campaign. (Ernice hands me the controller) He’s stuck at a sniping section so I whip out my COD skills and start dropping tangos like I’m in Dancing with the Stars. At the very end, there is no amount of shots taken that can kill the 2 RPG men on the highest building and they scare off our chopper for fear of getting hit anymore (Mission Failed). After replaying the entire mission and arriving to the same place I found that the sequence of shooting foes was initially open, and then later became a canned sequence. And if you were to execute out of sequence it would render your shots useless. Regardless of the sequence at the very end those RPG guys WOULD NOT DIE!! That’s a massive bug!! We couldn’t move forward in the dang game!! Me being pissed off, I turned to Multiplayer. At first glance… So inspiring!! Then you get shot dead… hmmm, I know I’m new but when I spawn on my friend is it supposed to be in the middle of a gun fight? You don’t even get to choose which teammate to spawn on. It’s like rolling a dice with your kill streak smh. And what’s this I’m under the map like in an old COD4 glitch? Nice. But wait, I’m falling and oops I’m dead. There goes that kill streak. But wait, I’m under the map falling 2 MORE TIMES!! They can’t even make a glitch right… or interesting… Ah-La “MW2 Javelin: Giant Explosion” (patched) was fun. The Maps are the real star of this game, the animations are 2nd.
    A few more words on the campaign: The animations remind me of Battlefield 3, but are much better looking… but not better functioning.
    The animation to climb over obstructions looks as good as Battlefield but is so cumbersome and takes too much effort to accomplish. I found myself getting lost as to where I should go or what I could or couldn’t climb :-/
    There are some cool things. Jumping from a high place and catching your balance is awesome. You always keep your primary weapon and secondary NO MATTER WHAT (even if you pick up an enemy weapon), that’s AWESOME!! When the enemy weapon eventually runs out of ammo (as your still shooting), the animation throws that gun away in “action hero style” and pulls out your primary in pure awesomeness to keep the shots going. That’s really as good as it gets. KillZone-like Multiplayer closing victory sequence of 2 guys complimenting each other playfully. Not the best Killcam in the world, but in my opinion it’s much better than Battlefield 3… it’s similar to Battlefield 3 but also like COD… they found a middle ground.
    I disagree with Ernice’s rating of 6 out of 10 I would give this a 4. Why? Because 007 Golden Eye, Halo Reach, COD4, and BF: Bad Company are all older than “Medal of Honor: Warfighter” and I’d play any of them any day over this game. I don’t even like Battlefield 3 but if given a choice I’d play it over this game. The standard of First Person Shooters are so high from since Call of Duty 4 that to bring out this poor example of a FPS shooter is an injustice to the genre. Here is my goal if I’m a game studio: Exceed COD4 and GoldenEye. If you can do that you’ve already put yourself in a great place. I think graphically this game has matched (or came very close to) Battlefield 3 in many aspects pertaining to graphics, sound, animation, and map detail. However, the core gameplay can’t even match GoldenEye or COD4. Pathetic. Especially given the 2 year development time and the deep library of FPS examples to pull from. There are better Play4Free games out there, save your money. Don’t even rent this one.

  5. CaribbeanCLANK October 24, 2012 at 4:05 pm -

    Story gets 3/10??? REALLY?!?!?!? All I can do is laugh. I think this will be my last post on Gamesthirst.

  6. Ernice Gilbert October 24, 2012 at 4:15 pm -

    Clank, good bye.

  7. Ghost250 October 24, 2012 at 4:16 pm -

    @CaribbeanCLANK dont let the door hit you on the way out.

  8. Ernice Gilbert October 24, 2012 at 4:17 pm -

    A guy hasn’t touched the game, but he figures it has an awesome story. LOL. I’ll laugh at you. Buy it first and then Judge. Or check out Eurogamer and D’toid and other top sites to see what they say. If you leave, nothing happens to me or us here. Life goes on. Farewell.

  9. narwall14 October 24, 2012 at 4:25 pm -

    CC you will be missed :(

  10. rpatricky October 24, 2012 at 4:31 pm -

    Jim on D’toid is a douche. I don’t go by anything that guy says. Clank, If you haven’t played it then you comment is invalid but I am enjoying the story….So far…As for the comments after Clank’s, I wouldn’t expect them from mature people and am surprised to see you in there Ernice.

  11. Ernice Gilbert October 24, 2012 at 4:33 pm -

    Come on Patrick. Clank basically said he was leaving GT because he disagreed with my opinion on the story. Worst even, he hasn’t touched the game. If seems as if he said that just to “get at” us for some ludicrous reason, and this time I just wasn’t having it.

  12. Ernice Gilbert October 24, 2012 at 4:35 pm -

    Like I’ve always said, when I review a game, I do it sincerely and relay how I feel. My experiences. It’s also good to see that I wasn’t the only one who feels that way.
    -
    Games Thirst’s 6/10 is among the higher scores, so if Clank feels like leaving because of this, especially when he hasn’t even played the game, what should I say? ‘Oh, sorry, I’ll change it’? Come on man.

  13. rpatricky October 24, 2012 at 4:38 pm -

    His last post doesn’t mean he is leaving. There are plenty of gaming sites I don’t get involved with in posting at all.
    I respect everybody’s opinions even though I may interject now and again but I read comments like that everywhere else and it just bugs me. Ignoring it would have been better.

  14. Ghost250 October 24, 2012 at 4:39 pm -

    @rpatricky “So far…As for the comments after Clank’s, I wouldn’t expect them from mature people” i guess getting mad and leaving a site because you don’t agree with a review is mature huh? lol nice job with that observation.

  15. Ernice Gilbert October 24, 2012 at 4:43 pm -

    @Patrick: Bro, as you all know I ignore users most times. But sometimes, just sometimes, a response is fitting.
    -
    I’ve had people say all sorts of things, things that would get users banned instantly on sites, but I 99 percent of the time just ignore it.
    -
    But for one to say they’re going to stop frequenting a site just because they disagree with a review, and proceeds to post a comment about their feelings on the site is just a nonsensical move. It seems as if said person would be trying to make a statement.
    -
    And again, Clank’s point would be valid if he’d played the game, and he’d went on to give a rebuttal to my observations with his own. But he hasn’t even touched it.

  16. rpatricky October 24, 2012 at 4:44 pm -

    Really? Did you not read my post? Did he say he is leaving? My observation is just fine, but I can see from yours that either your reading skills need some work or you just can not interpret what I am conveying.
    Go to D’toid and read the comments under the MOH review and compare them to all the comments in GT. You can see the difference in maturity just in the comments alone.

  17. rpatricky October 24, 2012 at 4:46 pm -

    @ernice, and I called him out on not having played the game.

  18. Ernice Gilbert October 24, 2012 at 4:46 pm -

    I know we’re mature community, bro, and I expected all sorts of varying opinions on this – that’s why Clank’s comment struck me as ignorant. Not something you’d usually expect from us here.

  19. Ernice Gilbert October 24, 2012 at 4:48 pm -

    @Patrick: Yep, I saw that and agree…. And I’m sorry if to you I came out a bit harsh. Forgive me for that. But I stand by my review.

  20. Ernice Gilbert October 24, 2012 at 4:48 pm -

    Patrick, did you get to the first sniper mission? That game has a bug right there. When you get there tell me about it.

  21. Ghost250 October 24, 2012 at 4:50 pm -

    @rpatricky did you not realize gamesthirst does not automatically refresh comments. hello!!!! i commented on page that did not have your other comment posted. like really get over yourself please. maybe your inept on this site works i guess.

  22. rpatricky October 24, 2012 at 4:52 pm -

    You are right. I wouldn’t expect it from you, but I didn’t expect the responses either.
    Don’t worry, I still love the site and will continue to contribute my vast knowledge of everything that is nothing. I find differing opinions refreshing.

  23. rpatricky October 24, 2012 at 4:53 pm -

    @Ghost… sigh.

  24. rpatricky October 24, 2012 at 4:55 pm -

    @Ernice, I played the first sniper mission. What bug? I love sniper missions in games and albeit a bit predictable, I did not notice a bug.

  25. TheGrimOfDeath October 24, 2012 at 4:56 pm -

    I’m just reading all these posts, not knowing how to react. I’m just lost in the hate and words of people. And Clank? Screw you everyone has their own opinion.

  26. rpatricky October 24, 2012 at 5:04 pm -

    I wasn’t able to kill the RPG guy the first time but the 2nd went fine.

  27. Ernice Gilbert October 24, 2012 at 5:24 pm -

    @Patrick: A lot of gamers are having problems with it. The editor-in-chief of PSXExtreme is having the same problems: http://www.psxextreme.com/ps3-news/12117.html

  28. rpatricky October 24, 2012 at 5:38 pm -

    @Ernice – I don’t know what to say about that…. Maybe you all suck? Kidding. I did notice that the spotter was a bit stupid but I did manage to make it past on the second run.

  29. Ernice Gilbert October 24, 2012 at 5:40 pm -

    I knew you’d say we suck. Haha. Cheap one! But seriously, you probably got lucky.. There’s certainly a bug there, or a level of difficulty that shouldn’t have been.

  30. rpatricky October 24, 2012 at 5:46 pm -

    Yeah. I can’t be serious all the time. I’m just past the 2nd sniper scenario and will see how it goes from there. If I had come across that bug, my opinion wouldn’t be as good as it is now.

  31. Ernice Gilbert October 24, 2012 at 5:52 pm -

    When you get a chance, try to repeat the first sniper challenge. And yeah, tell me how this one goes.

  32. rpatricky October 24, 2012 at 5:52 pm -

    My issue was with the driving sequence. I have no problem crashing into cars in real life, but sadly, it took me like half a dozen times to finally get that bastard.

  33. rpatricky October 24, 2012 at 5:52 pm -

    Will do.

  34. Joshua Tompkins October 24, 2012 at 5:53 pm -

    I have not played the game, and cannot comment on the review in full, but from what I have been reading around the gaming world, it is very mediocre. I am extremely disappointed because I thought the first game had an amazing single player, but the mp had problems. I liked the beta of this game, but it did not convince me enough to get with Assassin’s Creed coming out next week and Halo the week after that. I am just very disappointed in what I have read about this game.

  35. Ernice Gilbert October 24, 2012 at 5:57 pm -

    @Patrick: the game isn’t well balanced.

  36. Ernice Gilbert October 24, 2012 at 5:59 pm -

    @Josh: Bro, I feel the same way! I am extremely disappointed with the way it turned out. If you look on my PSN status, you’ll see “Last night in BF3″, and that’s because I was expecting this game to really be something. Totally disappointed.

  37. Mezzo October 24, 2012 at 6:46 pm -

    Ok here’s what i think.
    ————-
    If you’ve been keeping an eye on my Comments throughout GT, you’ll know that i was Crazy in Love with MOH 2010 & was really, really hyped for this title.
    ————–
    But sadly, i’ll have to say this ( with Heavy Heart ), this game is a Slap in the face of FPS games, I would take ;Medal of honor 2010′ over this game any-day.
    ————–
    It features a Boring, Propaganda filled, F* YEAH America, run of the mill campaign and a Multiplayer mode that is just Dull, i cannot see myself playing it for more than a couple of weeks.
    ————–
    I completely wasted my $60, i am not fortunate enough to afford each and every game that i like, and i can’t believe i chose this over Black Ops & Far Cry 3. Now i’ll be missing out on Black Ops II.

  38. Mezzo October 24, 2012 at 6:47 pm -

    This game has nothing over BF3 or COD…… Or even MOH 2010.

  39. Mezzo October 24, 2012 at 6:56 pm -

    I completely agree with this review.
    And Clank, Bro – People’s will always have different opinion than yours, if you enjoyed what you bought, that should be good enough.

  40. nick October 25, 2012 at 3:56 am -

    im actually quite surprised by it so far its been pretty good.
    still disappointed the slow tactical approach from the reboot is gone, but the game still does let you take a more thought out approach if you want to.
    i just wish the game would give me a freaking silencer!
    its so stupid, you have someone on the mic harping on saying dont start a firefight, yet they give you the loudest gun possible.
    besides that its actually allot of fun, though VERY buggy!
    my god i have not played such a unfinished game since, no even skyrim was THIS bad!
    ive only played for a few hours and already 5 times after dying and reloading the latest checkpoint the games actually taken me further into the level than where i died.
    never had that happen to me before!
    alarm bells started ringing when they announced a day one patch for this, its quite clear this was no where near ready for release!
    shame, this actually could of been really good, a worthy successor to one of this generations best shooters!
    yet again greed and sales have destroyed it.
    EA again destroying yet another franchise!
    sigh, if there was a gaming god he would banish them and antivision to the deepest darkest depths of hell!

  41. noel1987 October 31, 2012 at 6:18 pm -

    can sum one tell me how kill the 2 rpg guys top the high roof its inpossible. .

  42. Ernice Gilbert October 31, 2012 at 9:39 pm -

    @Noel – it seems like the game has a terrible bug there, as a host of gamers have encountered the same problem with the first sniper challenge mission. In essence, if you pass it you’re lucky.
    -
    Even if you managed to beat the level the game has not much to offer.

Leave A Response

You must be logged in to post a comment.